Skip to Main Content

Board of Commissioners

North Charleston Housing (NCH) is governed by a volunteer seven-person Board of Commissioners; appointed by the City of North Charleston. Through formal adoption of policy, they ensure that NCH is fiscally responsible and operates in an efficient manner.

Jeff Baxter, Chairman
Term Start: 3/23/2011
Real Estate Developer
Community Involvement: Chair of UrbanLand Institute South Carolina District Council; Co-Owner of Cityvolve, LLC.
Email Mr. Baxter

William Kleindienst, Vice-Chairman
Term Start: 10/25/2018
Community Involvement: Volunteer on the Charleston County Board of Assessment Appeals, Volunteer as pro bono attorney for Palmetto Community Care, Volunteer attorney for the SC Equality Litigation Task Force
Email Mr. Kleindienst

Jenion Tyson, Commissioner
Term Start: 7/24/2014
Rural Letter Carrier
Community Involvement: During the past 15 years Mr. Tyson has been active with a number of local groups, including the Cameron Terrace/Oak Park Civic Club and the Lowcountry Stargazers. He has been a Charleston County Master Gardener since 2012 and also volunteers his photography skills to local nonprofits.
Email Mr. Tyson

Robert Phillips, Commissioner
Term Start: 1/23/2002
Retired US Navy
Community Involvement: Neighborhood Council

Mary Champion-McCune, Commissioner
Coming soon

Clarence Mitchell, Commissioner
Term Start: 2/2020
Retired Military Corp.
Email Mr. Mitchell

Lydia Cotton, Commissioner
Term Start: 1/1/2020
Community Involvement: Hispanic Community Leader, City of Charleston Latino Ambassador, City of North Charleston Hispanic Liaison, SC Arts Commission Maven-Berkeley County, Commission on Women City of Charleston
Email Ms. Cotton